
What’s  
Happening?? 

 
 
What is happening 
in Seller Training? 
 
What legislative 

changes from the 79th Legislature 
will affect Seller Training? 

How do trainers receive continu-
ing education training hours for 
free? 
 
What news headlines are of in-
terest to all seller training 
schools? 
 
These questions and more will 
be answered at the 2005 Seller 
Training Seminars. 

2005 Seller Training Seminars  

       Training Together 
                Responsible Alcohol Service Saves Lives 

September 28, 2005 

Post Office Box 13127                          seller.training@tabc.state.tx.us            Coordinator: Deborah Dixon              
 Austin, Texas 78711                               http://www.tabc.state.tx.us                                  (512) 206-3420 
 
Alan Steen,  Administrator        John Steen, Chairman-San Antonio         Jose Cuevas, Member-Midland          Gail Madden, Member-Dallas     

Plan to Attend!  
2005 Seller Training Seminars. 

         Hours: 8:30 to 4:00 
 

                      October 25                 Houston        
                   October 26              Houston 
                   November 1             Corpus Christi 
                   November 3             McAllen 
                   November 8             Lubbock 
                   November 10           Austin 
                   November 14           Ft. Worth 
                   November 15           Mesquite 
                   November 29           El Paso 
                   December 1             Austin 

 
**6 Continuing Education Hours** 

 
Check our website for details and registration at  

          https://www.tabc.state.tx.us/liccom/seller/ 
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By Dave Moore 
Staff Writer 
 
            While Denton County was 
drinking Friday night, the eyes of 
Texas were upon it. 
            The results were 17 arrests 
on charges of public intoxication, 
four citations alleging alcoholic 
sales to drunken individuals, and 10 
citations against private clubs in dry 
communities, alleging that they 
failed to properly enroll undercover 
agents in their clubs before allowing 
them to drink alcohol. 
            “We’re taking a more pro-
active approach to selling alcohol to 
intoxicated individuals to keep 
drunks off the road,”  TABC Agent 
David Doggett said Saturday. 
            Thirty agents fanned out 
across dozens of bars in Denton 
County communities, including  
Denton, Lewisville, Frisco, Carroll-
ton, North Dallas and Flower 

Mound.  Numerous clubs — estab-
lishments in dry communities that 
serve alcohol only to members — 
were also visited by agents.  Doggett 
didn’t have a complete list of the 
names of the clubs and businesses 
visited and individuals arrested when 
interviewed. 
             Between 9:30 p.m. Friday 
and 2:30 a.m. Saturday, TABC 
agents observed bartenders and bar 
patrons, watching for violations of 
state law, which defines public in-
toxication as being so drunk that in-
dividuals may endanger themselves 
or others. 
             Public intoxication is a 
Class C misdemeanor, which carries 
a maximum $500 fine in Texas. 
             The bartenders who served 
the allegedly intoxicated individuals 
face stiffer fines, Doggett said.  
Those individuals face fines of up to 
$2,000 and up to six months’ jail 
time, he said.  Their establishments 

also face administrative action by 
the sate agency, and risk being 
fined or barred from selling alco-
hol for a period of days, he said. 
             The fines’ amounts and 
number of days alcohol sales may 
be banned depends on the number 
violations the establishment has 
had in the past, Doggett said. 
             Doggett said the commis-
sion will observe the number of ar-
rests for charges of driving while 
intoxicated in the coming weeks to 
see if the action made an impact on 
drunken driving. 
             “We started the operation 
to lower the DWI stats,” Doggett 
said.  “Texas leads the nation in 
alcohol-related fatalities.” 
 
             Dave Moo re ca n b e 
reached at 940-566-6882.  His e-
mail address is dmmoore@ den-
tonrc.com. 
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Thanks to Texas lawmakers, TABC will soon put 
more that 50 new agents on the streets to protect 
the health and safety of Texas citizens. 
 
BACK TO BASICS.   
                   Recently, TABC administrator Alan 
Steen announced his “Back-to-Basics” plan for 
enforcement agents. 
                   “The additional agents and ‘back-
to basics’  approach to enforcement priori-
ties will ultimately save more lives,” Steen 
said. 
                   Administrator Steen says this shift in 
priorities will enable enforcement agents to focus 
on enforcement activities. 
                   “Our specialized law enforcement 
agents need to be in the bars and restaurants pre-
venting DWI’s and addressing other public safety 
concerns,” he said. 
                   According to Enforcement Chief Sam 
Smelser, “ Not only are we sending out every 

available agent, but compliance officers will con-
duct regulatory inspections, allowing our agents 
to focus on high-risk locations.” 
 
STRATEGIC PLAN NING LEA DS TO ACTION.   
                  During the legislative session, TABC 
requested additional agents for a new pilot pro-
gram aimed at reducing DWI’s on our highways.  
The new program will focus on prevention and 
ways to ensure retail establishments do not sell to 
intoxicated persons. 
                  Regional action plans have been 
developed that incorporate this new pilot pro-
ject.  These plans outline proactive strategies 
that encourage public awareness and voluntary 
compliance of alcoholic beverage laws.  They 
also give the agency the ability to analyze 
trends and measure the success of their pro-
grams. 
                  As part of the strategic planning, staff 
in each region identified public safety issues and 

resources needed to reduce the number 
of alcohol-related wrecks and fatalities, 
and DWIs. 
                  The pilot project involves 
gathering information from local and 
state law enforcement to pinpoint areas 
with numerous DWIs, wrecks, and fatali-
ties.  With this data, enforcement staff 
will be able to allocate more agents to 
high-risk locations. 
                  Other programs and strategies 
to improve compliance include: 
♦ public education 
♦ undercover operations 
♦ retailer education 
♦ minor stings 
♦ public intoxication stings 
♦ follow-up in-

vestigations   

TABC GETS “GO-AHEAD” TO RAMP UP ENFORCEMENT EFFORTS 

TABC CRACKS 
DOWN ON VIOLATORS 
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New/Amended 

Alcoholic Beverage Laws 

The following chart summarizes some of the changes to the TABC Code made during the last legislative 
session.  Plan to attend the 2005 Seminars to learn about how these changes will affect seller training 
schools/programs.  For full text of bills, go to:  www.capitol.state.tx.us  

Bill Subject  Summary 
    

 
HB 1575 

 
Civil consequences of 
certain alcohol-related 
offenses 

  
Enhances penalty for illegally making alcohol available to 
a minor. Requires automatic suspension of driver’s license 
for 180 days upon conviction.  Enhances penalty for mi-
nors convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses if minor 
has similar previous convictions.  Requires automatic sus-
pension of DL for one year if minor does not attend re-
quired alcohol awareness training. 
 

 
HB 2451 

 
Sale, service, and deliv-
ery of alcoholic bever-
age. 

 
 

 
Creates a specific criminal charge of sale or consumption 
during prohibited hours on permitted premises.  Makes 
sale or consumption during prohibited hours a class C 
misdemeanor. 
 

 
HB 2868 

 
Civil liability for provid-
ing alcohol to a minor.  
Chapter 2.  Civil Liabili-
ties  

 
 

 
Establishes civil liability for adults 21 or older (other than 
parent/guardian) for damages caused by intoxication of 
minor under 18 if adult knowingly provided alcoholic 
beverage to minor or allowed minor to be served or pro-
vided alcoholic beverage on premises owned or leased by 
the adult. 
 

 
SB 1465 

 
Use of certain electroni-
cally readable informa-
tion on a driver’s license 
or ID certificate to com-
ply with certain alcohol– 
and tobacco-related 
laws. 
 

 
 

 
Creates a defense to prosecution of sale to a minor if per-
son selling checked ID with electronic scan device that 
showed ID was valid and person was 21.  Creates a de-
fense to administrative action if permittee provided a 
transaction scan device to employees and trained them, 
but an employee sold to a minor. 
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REGISTRATION 

 




